Elevating Child Care: A Guide to Respectful Parenting by Janet Lansbury


“Elevating Child Care: A Guide to Respectful Parenting” by Janet Lansbury is a comprehensive guide that promotes a respectful and child-centered approach to parenting. Drawing from the principles of the RIE (Resources for Infant Educarers) philosophy, the book provides practical advice and strategies for nurturing healthy parent-child relationships and supporting children’s development.

Lansbury emphasizes the importance of respecting a child’s individuality, emotions, and capabilities. She addresses topics such as setting boundaries, handling tantrums, and promoting independence. The book encourages parents to view their children as competent individuals and offers insights into effective communication, fostering trust, and guiding children with empathy and respect.

“Elevating Child Care” empowers parents to embrace a parenting style that prioritizes clear communication, emotional connection, and the belief in children’s innate abilities. Through real-life examples and practical guidance, the book equips parents to raise confident, resilient, and well-adjusted children.

10 Key Takeaways from Elevating Child Care: A Guide to Respectful Parenting by Janet Lansbury:

  • Respectful Approach: Lansbury advocates for treating children with respect and recognizing their individuality. By honoring their emotions, thoughts, and capabilities, parents lay the foundation for a respectful parent-child relationship.
  • Independent Exploration: Encourage children to explore their surroundings and engage in self-directed play. Providing a safe environment and allowing autonomy fosters confidence, curiosity, and a sense of mastery.
  • Clear Communication: Communicate with clarity and simplicity. Using straightforward language helps children understand expectations and contributes to effective communication.
  • Responsive Listening: Actively listen to children’s verbal and nonverbal cues. Being attuned to their needs and feelings creates a supportive environment and demonstrates empathy.
  • Embrace Feelings: Acknowledge and validate children’s emotions, even if they seem challenging or intense. This teaches children that their feelings are accepted and helps them learn to manage emotions.
  • Setting Boundaries: Establish clear and consistent limits. Children thrive when they know what is expected of them and feel secure within those boundaries.
  • Avoid Over-Intervention: Allow children to navigate certain challenges independently. Providing guidance rather than solving every problem fosters problem-solving skills and self-confidence.
  • Unhurried Approach: Slow down and offer children ample time to process, explore, and learn. Rushing them can lead to frustration and hinder their ability to engage in meaningful activities.
  • Limit Authoritarian Methods: Replace punishment with understanding. Address behavior with empathy, redirection, and logical consequences, focusing on teaching rather than punishing.
  • Modeling Behavior: Model the behaviors and values you want to instill in your children. They learn by observing, so embody respect, empathy, and effective communication.


In “Elevating Child Care,” Janet Lansbury advocates for a respectful and child-centered parenting philosophy that nurtures strong parent-child relationships. By embracing clear communication, empathy, and a belief in children’s competence, parents can guide their children’s growth with confidence. The book empowers parents to create an environment where boundaries, independent exploration, and emotional validation flourish. Ultimately, Lansbury’s approach encourages parents to view themselves as supportive guides, fostering children’s self-confidence, emotional intelligence, and overall well-being through respectful and empathetic interactions.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Renoir, My Father by Jean Renoir

Summary: "Renoir, My Father" is a captivating memoir written by Jean Renoir, the son of the renowned French Impressionist...

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Summary: "The Wheel of Time" series, penned by Robert Jordan, is an epic fantasy saga spanning fourteen novels. At...

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Summary: "The Priory of the Orange Tree" by Samantha Shannon is a standalone epic fantasy novel set in a...

 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Summary: "The Black Prism" by Brent Weeks is the first book in the "Lightbringer" series, set in a world...