Parenting Forward by Cindy Wang Brandt


“Parenting Forward” by Cindy Wang Brandt is a book that challenges traditional parenting norms and offers a fresh perspective on raising children in a more inclusive, empathetic, and open-minded way. The book encourages parents to move beyond authoritarian approaches and adopt a philosophy that respects children as individuals with their own thoughts, feelings, and identities.

Brandt advocates for nurturing children’s curiosity, encouraging critical thinking, and fostering open communication. She discusses how parents can navigate topics such as religion, gender, race, and sexuality with sensitivity, ensuring their children grow up with a sense of self-awareness, empathy, and a strong foundation for their own values.

“Parenting Forward” empowers parents to break away from harmful cycles and cultivate a parenting style that embraces diversity, fosters independent thinking, and nurtures children’s holistic growth. It emphasizes the importance of listening to children and creating an environment where they can thrive as unique individuals.

10 Key Takeaways from Parenting Forward by Cindy Wang Brandt:

  • Child-Centered Parenting: Shift from authoritarian and control-based parenting to child-centered parenting. Prioritize your child’s needs, emotions, and identity, allowing them to play an active role in shaping their growth.
  • Empower Curiosity: Encourage and nurture your child’s curiosity and questioning. This approach fosters critical thinking, creativity, and a lifelong love of learning.
  • Open Communication: Create an environment of open and respectful communication. By listening to your child’s thoughts and feelings without judgment, you build trust and encourage them to share more with you.
  • Diversity and Inclusion: Embrace diversity in all its forms and teach your child to appreciate differences. Teach them about different cultures, religions, genders, and backgrounds to cultivate empathy and respect.
  • Empathy and Emotional Intelligence: Prioritize teaching emotional intelligence by helping your child recognize, understand, and manage their emotions. Empathy and emotional awareness are essential life skills.
  • Autonomy and Independence: Foster your child’s independence and autonomy. Allow them to make age-appropriate choices, empowering them to develop self-confidence and decision-making skills.
  • Navigating Challenging Conversations: Approach difficult topics such as religion, race, and sexuality with sensitivity. Create an environment where these conversations are welcomed, ensuring your child feels safe discussing their questions and concerns.
  • Flexible Values: Embrace evolving values that reflect your child’s and family’s growth. Allow your parenting style to adapt as your child develops their own beliefs and values.
  • Non-Judgmental Parenting: Replace judgment with understanding. Approach your child’s experiences and decisions with empathy, creating an atmosphere where they feel accepted for who they are.
  • Future-Oriented Parenting: Focus on preparing your child for the future by equipping them with critical thinking, adaptability, and a sense of social responsibility. Encourage them to think about the impact of their choices on themselves and society.


“Parenting Forward” encourages a transformative shift in parenting, urging parents to prioritize empathy, open communication, and inclusive values. By nurturing children’s curiosity, emotional intelligence, and autonomy, the book equips parents to create an environment where children develop as compassionate, critical thinkers. Embracing diversity and fostering respectful discussions, parents can guide children toward becoming thoughtful individuals with a strong sense of self and a deep understanding of the world around them. This approach ultimately empowers parents to raise children who are prepared to contribute positively to a diverse and evolving society.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Renoir, My Father by Jean Renoir

Summary: "Renoir, My Father" is a captivating memoir written by Jean Renoir, the son of the renowned French Impressionist...

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Summary: "The Wheel of Time" series, penned by Robert Jordan, is an epic fantasy saga spanning fourteen novels. At...

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Summary: "The Priory of the Orange Tree" by Samantha Shannon is a standalone epic fantasy novel set in a...

 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Summary: "The Black Prism" by Brent Weeks is the first book in the "Lightbringer" series, set in a world...