The Belgariad series by David Eddings


“The Belgariad” series by David Eddings is a classic epic fantasy saga that follows the journey of a young farm boy named Garion who discovers that he is the chosen one destined to defeat the dark god Torak. Alongside a diverse cast of characters including the sorcerer Belgarath, the enigmatic Aunt Pol, and the thief Silk, Garion embarks on a quest to retrieve a powerful artifact known as the Orb of Aldur. Throughout their adventures, they encounter mythical creatures, warring kingdoms, and ancient prophecies as they strive to fulfill their destiny and prevent the rise of evil.

As the series unfolds over five books, Garion learns about his true identity and grapples with the weight of his responsibilities, while his companions face their own trials and challenges. With its richly developed world, compelling characters, and epic scope, “The Belgariad” captivates readers with its blend of adventure, magic, and timeless themes of friendship, courage, and the struggle between light and darkness.

10 Key Takeaways from The Belgariad series by David Eddings

  • Chosen One Trope: Garion’s journey as the chosen one follows a familiar archetype in fantasy literature, where an ordinary individual discovers they have a pivotal role to play in the battle against darkness.
  • Epic Quest: The quest for the Orb of Aldur takes Garion and his companions across vast distances, through perilous lands, and into the heart of enemy territory, creating a sense of epic adventure and danger.
  • Diverse Characters: From the wise and mysterious sorcerer Belgarath to the quick-witted thief Silk, each character brings their own skills and perspectives to the group, contributing to the richness of the story’s world.
  • Magic System: Eddings’ magic system is based on the manipulation of the Will and the use of various artifacts imbued with magical power, with different characters specializing in different aspects of sorcery.
  • Worldbuilding: The author meticulously constructs a world with its own geography, history, and cultures, drawing inspiration from real-world civilizations while adding his own imaginative twists.
  • Themes of Friendship and Loyalty: The bonds forged between Garion and his companions are tested as they face numerous challenges together, highlighting the importance of loyalty and camaraderie in the face of adversity.
  • Character Growth: Characters such as Garion, Ce’Nedra, and Silk undergo significant growth throughout the series as they confront their fears, make difficult choices, and come to terms with their identities.
  • Prophecy and Destiny: Prophecies drive much of the plot, with characters striving to fulfill or subvert them as they navigate the complexities of fate and free will.
  • Conflict and Warfare: The series features political intrigue, alliances, and battles between nations, adding layers of complexity to the story as the characters navigate the shifting allegiances and power struggles.
  • Ultimately, Good vs. Evil: While the series explores themes of moral ambiguity and shades of gray, it ultimately centers on the timeless struggle between the forces of light and darkness, with Garion and his allies standing as the last line of defense against evil.


In the conclusion of “The Belgariad” series, Garion fulfills his destiny by confronting the dark god Torak in a climactic battle for the fate of the world. With the support of his companions and the wisdom gained from his journey, Garion embraces his role as the chosen one and ultimately triumphs over evil, restoring peace and balance to the land. As the series draws to a close, the characters reflect on their experiences, their bonds strengthened by the trials they’ve faced together, leaving readers with a sense of fulfillment and the hope for a brighter future in the wake of their victory.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Renoir, My Father by Jean Renoir

Summary: "Renoir, My Father" is a captivating memoir written by Jean Renoir, the son of the renowned French Impressionist...

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Summary: "The Wheel of Time" series, penned by Robert Jordan, is an epic fantasy saga spanning fourteen novels. At...

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Summary: "The Priory of the Orange Tree" by Samantha Shannon is a standalone epic fantasy novel set in a...

 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Summary: "The Black Prism" by Brent Weeks is the first book in the "Lightbringer" series, set in a world...