The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis


“The Magician’s Nephew” by C.S. Lewis is the sixth book in “The Chronicles of Narnia” series, but it serves as a prequel to the events of the first book, “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.” The story is set in both the magical land of Narnia and England and explores the origins of Narnia and how it came into being.

The central characters, Digory Kirke and Polly Plummer, inadvertently discover a connection between their world and Narnia through the use of magical rings created by Digory’s uncle, the eccentric and misguided magician, Uncle Andrew. As they experiment with the rings, they inadvertently bring an evil sorceress, Jadis (the future White Witch), into London. To rectify their mistake, Digory, Polly, and Jadis are transported to the newly created world of Narnia, where they witness its birth and the arrival of the majestic lion, Aslan. The story explores themes of creation, temptation, and the consequences of one’s actions. Ultimately, it sets the stage for the adventures that follow in the Narnia series.

10 Key Takeaways from The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis:

  • Creation and Origins: The book explores the theme of creation, showing how Narnia came into existence through the singing of Aslan, the great lion. This takeaway highlights the idea that creation is a divine act and underscores the importance of understanding the origins of things.
  • The Consequences of Curiosity: Digory’s curiosity and Uncle Andrew’s ambition lead to the accidental transportation of Jadis to London. This teaches readers about the potential consequences of unchecked curiosity and the importance of ethical scientific exploration.
  • The Nature of Evil: Jadis, the White Witch, represents the embodiment of evil. The book demonstrates how evil can corrupt and destroy, serving as a cautionary tale about the dangers of power without morality.
  • The Virtue of Friendship: The friendship between Digory and Polly is a central theme. It emphasizes the importance of supporting and helping one another in times of trouble and shows that true friends stand by each other through adversity.
  • The Role of Adults: The actions of Uncle Andrew and other adult characters in the story highlight the impact of adult decisions on children’s lives. This takeaway encourages readers to reflect on the responsibilities of adults and their influence on the younger generation.
  • The Power of Sacrifice: Digory’s willingness to undertake a perilous journey to save his ailing mother showcases the power of self-sacrifice for the well-being of loved ones. It underscores the idea that love and sacrifice are closely intertwined.
  • Redemption and Transformation: The book offers hope for redemption and transformation, as Jadis has the opportunity for change but chooses her path of evil. This theme suggests that even the most corrupted individuals can change if they choose to do so.
  • The Complexity of Morality: The story delves into moral complexities, such as the choices made by characters in difficult situations. It prompts readers to consider the gray areas of morality and ethical decision-making.
  • The Role of Magic: Magic is portrayed as both a powerful force and a potential danger. The book encourages readers to contemplate the ethical use of power and magic and their consequences.
  • The Beginning of Narnia: “The Magician’s Nephew” serves as the creation story of Narnia and sets the stage for the events in the subsequent books of “The Chronicles of Narnia.” It shows that beginnings are significant and lay the foundation for the unfolding of a larger narrative.


“The Magician’s Nephew” concludes with the establishment of Narnia as a vibrant and magical world, thanks to the benevolent creation of Aslan. Digory and Polly return to London, having learned valuable lessons about responsibility and the consequences of their actions. The story leaves readers with a sense of wonder at the birth of Narnia and sets the stage for the adventures that will follow in the series. It underscores the idea that every world has its beginning, and this beginning is filled with both potential and responsibility.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Renoir, My Father by Jean Renoir

Summary: "Renoir, My Father" is a captivating memoir written by Jean Renoir, the son of the renowned French Impressionist...

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Summary: "The Wheel of Time" series, penned by Robert Jordan, is an epic fantasy saga spanning fourteen novels. At...

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Summary: "The Priory of the Orange Tree" by Samantha Shannon is a standalone epic fantasy novel set in a...

 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Summary: "The Black Prism" by Brent Weeks is the first book in the "Lightbringer" series, set in a world...