The Explosive Child by Ross W. Greene


“The Explosive Child” by Ross W. Greene is a guide that offers insights and strategies for parents, caregivers, and educators dealing with children who exhibit challenging behaviors, such as explosive tantrums and meltdowns. Greene introduces the Collaborative & Proactive Solutions (CPS) approach, emphasizing a proactive and collaborative approach to addressing these behaviors.

The book highlights that children with challenging behaviors often lack the skills to manage their frustrations and demands. Rather than relying on traditional punishment-based approaches, the CPS model encourages adults to work collaboratively with children to identify and address the underlying causes of their behaviors. This approach focuses on problem-solving, communication, and teaching children the skills they need to handle challenges more effectively.

“The Explosive Child” provides practical strategies for fostering empathy, communication, and cooperation, helping both adults and children work together to reduce explosive episodes and build healthier relationships.

10 Key Takeaways from The Explosive Child by Ross W. Greene:

  • Collaborative Approach: The book introduces the Collaborative & Proactive Solutions (CPS) model, which emphasizes collaboration between adults and children in solving problems. This approach shifts away from traditional control-based strategies.
  • Understanding Challenging Behavior: Challenging behaviors are often a result of lagging skills and unmet expectations. Rather than viewing a child as “defiant,” the CPS model helps adults identify the underlying causes of the behavior.
  • Empathy and Compassion: The CPS approach encourages adults to develop empathy for the child’s challenges. By understanding their struggles, adults can better respond with patience and understanding.
  • Proactive Problem-Solving: Address challenges proactively rather than reactively. By identifying and addressing triggers and unsolved problems, adults can prevent explosive episodes and foster a more peaceful environment.
  • Effective Communication: Open and effective communication is key. The CPS model promotes a dialogue between adults and children, allowing both parties to express their concerns, needs, and frustrations.
  • Skills Training: Focus on teaching children the skills they lack to manage their behavior effectively. This includes problem-solving skills, emotional regulation, and effective communication.
  • Avoiding Power Struggles: The CPS approach aims to avoid power struggles and control battles. Instead of imposing adult authority, the emphasis is on working collaboratively to find mutually agreeable solutions.
  • Flexible Expectations: Recognize that not all children can meet the same expectations at the same time. Adjust expectations based on a child’s individual capabilities and needs.
  • Empowerment: The CPS model empowers children to be part of the problem-solving process. This fosters a sense of ownership and encourages them to take responsibility for their behavior.
  • Long-Term Change: The CPS model aims for lasting change by addressing the root causes of behavior rather than merely suppressing symptoms. It helps children develop essential life skills for the long term.


“The Explosive Child” empowers caregivers to transform their approach to challenging behaviors. Ross W. Greene’s Collaborative & Proactive Solutions (CPS) model emphasizes understanding, empathy, and collaborative problem-solving. By shifting away from punitive measures and addressing underlying issues, caregivers can guide children toward improved self-regulation and essential life skills. The book underscores that through effective communication, proactive intervention, and compassion, caregivers can foster healthier relationships and pave the way for lasting positive change in children’s behavior and emotional well-being.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Renoir, My Father by Jean Renoir

Summary: "Renoir, My Father" is a captivating memoir written by Jean Renoir, the son of the renowned French Impressionist...

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Summary: "The Wheel of Time" series, penned by Robert Jordan, is an epic fantasy saga spanning fourteen novels. At...

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Summary: "The Priory of the Orange Tree" by Samantha Shannon is a standalone epic fantasy novel set in a...

 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Summary: "The Black Prism" by Brent Weeks is the first book in the "Lightbringer" series, set in a world...