The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle


“The Hound of the Baskervilles” is one of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s most famous Sherlock Holmes novels. The story is set in the eerie moorlands of Devonshire, England, and revolves around the legend of the Baskerville curse. The novel begins with the death of Sir Charles Baskerville, whose demise is believed to be linked to the curse, which tells of a phantom hound that haunts the Baskerville family.

Dr. John Watson is summoned to investigate the mysterious death, and Sherlock Holmes joins him later in the case. The duo uncovers a complex web of family secrets, superstitions, and deceit as they delve into the history of the Baskerville family. Through their deductive reasoning, Holmes and Watson gradually reveal the truth behind the apparent curse and unmask the real culprit. The story is a masterful blend of detective work, suspense, and the supernatural, making it one of the most enduring and beloved works in the Sherlock Holmes canon.

10 Key Takeaways from The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle:

  • The Supernatural Element: The legend of the spectral hound haunting the Baskerville family adds an eerie and supernatural element to the story. It serves as a central mystery that Sherlock Holmes must unravel. This element of the unknown heightens the suspense and intrigue of the novel.
  • Holmes’s Deductive Method: The novel showcases Sherlock Holmes’s brilliant deductive method. He uses logic, keen observation, and attention to detail to solve the case. Readers are reminded of Holmes’s exceptional intellectual abilities and his knack for solving seemingly unsolvable mysteries.
  • Atmospheric Setting: The moorlands of Devonshire, with their misty landscapes and foreboding atmosphere, become a character in themselves. The setting contributes significantly to the novel’s sense of foreboding and mystery.
  • Complex Characters: The characters in the novel are multi-dimensional, each with their own secrets and motivations. Sir Henry Baskerville, Dr. John Watson, and others are portrayed with depth, making the reader question their roles in the unfolding mystery.
  • Themes of Inheritance and Legacy: The theme of inheritance and family legacy is prominent. The curse is tied to the Baskerville family’s history, and it raises questions about the impact of the past on the present.
  • Red Herrings: The novel includes several red herrings, or misleading clues, that divert both the characters and the readers from the true solution. This demonstrates Doyle’s skill in constructing a complex mystery.
  • Fear and Superstition: The characters’ fear of the curse and their superstitions play a significant role in the plot. This highlights the influence of folklore and superstition on people’s beliefs and actions.
  • The Loyal Friendship: The enduring friendship between Holmes and Watson is a central theme. Watson’s unwavering loyalty to Holmes and his dedication to solving the case are key elements of the story’s emotional depth.
  • Deception and Secrecy: Deception and secrecy are recurring themes as characters hide their true intentions and actions. This adds layers of complexity to the narrative and keeps the reader guessing.
  • Justice Prevails: Ultimately, justice prevails as Holmes unravels the mystery and exposes the truth. This reaffirms the theme that reason and logic can triumph over superstition and fear.


In “The Hound of the Baskervilles” by Arthur Conan Doyle, Sherlock Holmes’s brilliant deductive skills unravel the mysteries surrounding the Baskerville curse. The novel’s conclusion reveals that the supernatural hound is, in fact, a product of human cunning and cruelty. Justice is served as the true culprits are unmasked, and the legacy of fear and deception is put to rest. The enduring friendship between Holmes and Watson triumphs once again, showcasing the power of reason and logic over superstition and fear in this captivating and timeless detective tale.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Renoir, My Father by Jean Renoir

Summary: "Renoir, My Father" is a captivating memoir written by Jean Renoir, the son of the renowned French Impressionist...

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Summary: "The Wheel of Time" series, penned by Robert Jordan, is an epic fantasy saga spanning fourteen novels. At...

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Summary: "The Priory of the Orange Tree" by Samantha Shannon is a standalone epic fantasy novel set in a...

 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Summary: "The Black Prism" by Brent Weeks is the first book in the "Lightbringer" series, set in a world...